

Meeting Minutes

August 15, 2016

The North Dakota State Staff Senate met on August 15, 2016 via ND IVN.

I. Call to order

a. The meeting was called to order at 2:30pm CT on August 15, 2016 by ND State Staff Senate President Katie Peterson (WSC).

II. Roll call

- a. **Bismarck State College (BSC):** Marlene Anderson, Retha Mattern
- b. Core Technology Services Office (CTSO): Randy Wald
- c. **Dakota College Bottineau (DCB):** Mike O'Toole
- d. **Dickinson State University (DSU):** Laura Fetting, Krissy Kilwein
- e. Lake Region State College (LRSC): Andy Wakeford
- f. Mayville State University (MaSU): Jessica Amb, Misti Wuori
- g. Minot State University (MiSU): Linda Benson, Mindy Rudnick
- h. North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS): Lisa Braun, Nick Kraft
- i. North Dakota State University (NDSU): Ryan Brinkman, Amanda Groom
- j. University of North Dakota (UND): Diane Hillebrand
- k. **Valley City State University (VCSU):** (No members Present)
- l. Williston State College (WSC): Katie Peterson, Tina Stewart
- m. **NDUS Representative:** Linda Donlin (Absent)
- n. **HRC Representative (NDSCS):** Lisa Braun
- o. HRC Liaison: Gail Ebeltoft
- p. **SBHE Representative (LRSC):** Andy Wakeford

III. Approval of Agenda

a. Motion from Diane Hillebrand (UND) and second by Nick Kraft (NDSCS) to add *Communications Officer* under *VII. Special Elections.* A motion was made by Diane Hillebrand (UND) and seconded by Krissy Kilwein (DSU) to approve the updated agenda. The agenda was unanimously approved with this addition.

IV. Approval of Minutes

a. Motion was made by Lisa Braun (NDSCS) and seconded by Diane Hillebrand (UND) to approve the July 26, 2016 minutes with the correction to Lisa Braun HRC Representative from (*LRSC*) to (*NDSCS*). The minutes were unanimously approved.

V. Reports

- a. Campus Updates The campus updates were distributed via email. No verbal updates were given.
- b. SBHE Staff Advisor Report Andy Wakeford (LRSC) reported that the next State Board of Higher Education (SBHE) meeting will be held on September 29, 2016 at UND. The SBHE meeting agenda will be available at http://ndus.edu/board/agendas/.
- c. HRC Lisa Braun (NDSCS) reported that the next meeting is scheduled for the end of September at VCSU. Please send any topics for discussion to Lisa beforehand.
- d. SBHE Task Forces
 - i. Shared Services Diane Hillebrand (UND) reported that the committee has not met since June and should be meeting soon.
 - ii. Tuition/Fees Model Andy Wakeford (LRSC) reported that the committee is working on updating to a common language with waivers. The next meeting will be in two or three weeks where they will prepare the information to present at the SBHE meeting on September 29th. Krissy Kilwein (DSU) asked for clarification on if these waivers pertained to students or employees. Andy stated that they are discussing student waivers.

VI. Business Agenda

- a. Pharmacy Information from Bob Heitkamp. Katie Peterson (WSC) reviewed the pharmacy information and noted that it discussed legislation passed in Iowa. Diane Hillebrand (UND) asked if it was mentioned if anybody knows when the open meeting in Wahpeton will be held. Lisa Braun (NDSCS) stated that no information has been released, but they will update as soon as they become aware.
- b. Legislative Session Special Group Katie Peterson (WSC) inquired about forming a group to discuss the legislative bills during the upcoming legislative session. Diane Hillebrand (UND) mentioned that it is helpful to discuss the legislation and bring to NDSSS. Katie asked when the legislative session begins. It was mentioned that it begins on January 3, 2017 and everyone should consider if they would like to join the committee. This committee will be formed by the December meeting.

VII. Special Elections

- a. Vice President/President-Elect -
 - Lisa Braun (NDSCS) nominated Nick Kraft (NDSCS). Nomination accepted. Diane Hillebrand (UND) motioned to close nominations and vote by acclamation. Tina Stewart (WSC) seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- b. Communications Officer
 - i. Katie Peterson (UND) gave a description of the duties and opened nominations.
 - ii. Randy Wald (CTSO) nominated Krissy Kilwein (DSU). Nomination accepted. Tina Stewart (WSC) moved to cease nominations and vote by acclamation. Diane Hillebrand (UND) seconded the motion.

VIII. Open Discussion

- a. Diane Hillebrand (UND) stated that the newly elected NDSSS officers should send their picture to Krissy to be placed on the website.
- b. Krissy Kilwein (DSU) introduced Gail Ebeltoft (HRC Liaison) and asked if she had any updates. Ms. Ebeltoft stated that the last HRC meeting was held in June and their current initiatives are working with time and labor management and dealing with Fair Labor Standards Act. Ms. Ebeltoft plans to send an update to the HRC after each NDSSS meeting to keep them informed.

IX. Future Meetings

- a. State Staff Senate Meeting September 19, 2016 at 2:30pm CT
- b. Katie Peterson (WSC) requested that each campus check the room(s) they will be using for the meeting and send this information to Krissy Kilwein (DSU). Also, send listserv information to Krissy.

X. Adjournment

a. The meeting adjourned at 2:57pm CT.

Respectfully submitted,

Laura Fetting ND SSS Secretary 2016-17