North Dakota University System Staff Senate Meeting December 20, 2010 Meeting Minutes

The North Dakota University System Staff Senate met on December 20, 2010 via IVN.

Schools present:

Bismarck State College (BSC): Josh Jeffers and Scott Helphrey; Dickinson State University (DSU): Christie Chernich and Heidi Larson; Dakota College @ Bottineau (DCB): Tracy Chisholm Lake Region State College (LRSC): Melissa Stotts; Mayville State University (MaSU): Cindy Ingebretson, Jay Henrickson; Minot State University (MiSU): Nathan Anderson, Linda Benson, and Anton Huether; North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS): Aaron Berg; Aimee Devries North Dakota State University (NDSU): Kathy Backen-Andersen; University of North Dakota (UND): Janice Hoffarth, Kristi Swartz; Valley City State University (VCSU): Betty Schumacher; Williston State College (WSC): Ron Radle, Angie March.

Schools Absent: none

Human Resource Council representatives: none

NDUS Staff Senate Vice President Aaron Berg called the meeting to order at 1 p.m.

Campus Updates: The campuses provided updates. See attached.

Approval of Minutes: Approval of minutes was done electronically on 10/8/10.

Old Business:

Bylaws; Removal of an Officer and/or Senator: Tabled until next meeting

New Business:

(4) Presidential Resignation:

Janine Trowbridge submitted her resignation due to health reasons.

Betty Schumacher made a motion to accept Janine Trowbridges' resignation. Scott Helphrey seconded. Motion carried.

(5) Const & Bylaws Conflict re: VP assumption of Presidents Role:

Discussion: Length of term was discussed. It was decided that the term would be for 16 months. Jay Henrickson said that he felt there was no problem with the present way the language is presently in our constitution and bylaws.

Scott Helphrey (BSC) made a motion to accept Aaron Berg (NDSCS) as NDUSSS President to full fill the remaining time left to the 2010/2011 term and an additional 12 month term. Second by Kathy Backen-Andersen (NDSU). Motion carried.

(6) Interim Election for Vice President

Discussion: The term will be for 6 months, the vice president position is interim and will be filled at our June meeting.

Nominations for Interim Vice President Opened:

Scott Helphrey nominated Josh Jeffers from BSC, second by Betty Schumacher at VCSU. Josh Jeffers accepted. Unanimous vote.

(1) Conversation with Richie Smith

Aaron Berg has been in contact with Richie Smith the past president of the Higher Board of Education and he has advised that we head to legislative action to gain a non-voting/advisory seat on the Board. Aaron met with Republican Clark Williams from Richland County and is drafting a bill to present to the legislature. Aaron is asking all colleges to visit with their university presidents and local representatives about the bill and will be sending out copies as soon as it has been drafted.

(2) Chancellor follow up phone call

Aaron Berg will be visiting with the Chancellor to see about his support of this action.

(3) Dec. 16th, 2010 Board of Higher Ed Meeting Update

Aaron Berg reported that the four hour meeting was conducted via phone conference and there was not much discussion except on the Budget.

(7) Dakota College @ Bottineau

Joining us from Dakota College at Bottineau is Tracy Chisholm. We will be working with Tracy to try and rejuvenate the Staff Senate at the College.

(8) Legislation

Kristi Swartz (UND) shared that the University Senate, Student Senate and Staff Senate representatives met and discussed a joint venture to share information and updates and work together. As UND receives information we will send it out to everyone. Aaron Berg shared that the Higher Education Board website also contains updates as to what is happening at the Legislature.

(13) NDUS Strategic Plan

Where does staff fit into the SBHE's Strategic Plan? How is your college helping students in the preparation for college...please send what your staff/college is doing to Aaron Berg who will report these items as appropriate at future SBHE meeting.

9) June Meeting in Dickinson

Heidi Larson (DSC) will send out the hotel information again for everyone to get rooms for the June meeting. Kristi Swartz (UND) will send out a Doodle to set meeting date/time.

Open Floor

Janice Hoffarth (UND) sends forth a huge thank you to Aaron Berg for all the work he has done. She also is wondering if her position as Past President is extended for the 16 months.

Linda Benson (MiSU) moves that the past president position be filled by Janice Hoffarth for the 16 month term, second by Christie Chernich (DSU). Motion carried.

Any updates to the list-serv please send to Cindy Rerick (LRSC)

Heidi Larson (DSU) made a motion to adjourn, Josh Jeffers (BSC) second. Motion carried.