North Dakota University System Staff Senate Meeting December 17, 2012 Meeting Minutes

The North Dakota University System Staff Senate met on December 17, 2012 via IVN.

Schools present:

Bismarck State College (BSC): Carla Sivesind and Scott Hulphrey; Dakota College Bottineau (DCB): Ashley Pedie and Eric Kester-Mabon; Dickinson State University (DSU): Anthony Willer, Kristi Sparks and Grant Carlson; Lake Region State College (LRSC): Katie Nettell, Andy Waitford and Patty Wallace; Mayville State University (MaSU): Susan Cordahl; Minot State University (MiSU): Linda Benson, Darla Weigel and Vicki Troftgruben; North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS): Lisa Wixo North Dakota State University (NDSU): Laura Dallmann, Kelly Bisek and Wendy Gibson; University of North Dakota (UND): Kristi Swartz, Diana Hillebrand, Patricia Young and Janice Hoffarth; Valley City State University (VCSU): Rick Clark and Emma Tufte; Williston State College (WSC): James Foertsch.

SBHE Board Member: Janice Hoffarth NDUS Representative: Laura Glatt HRC Representative: Pat Hansen

NDUS Staff Senate President James Foertsch called the meeting to order at 2:05 pm.

Campus Updates: The campuses provided updates.

Eric Kester-Mabon (DCB) moved to approve the September 12, 2012 minutes. Diana Hillebrand (UND) seconded. Motion carried.

Nominations for the State Board of Higher Education Staff Advisor position was added to the agenda under new business.

Open Issues:

1) NDSSS Logo

a. The NDSSS Logo was tabled at the June 2012 meeting. No new options were presented. BSC will work with their graphic designer to create additional options for review.

2) HR Payroll Task Force

a. Clarification was sought as this task force has not yet met. According to Laura Glautt, the task force is on hold pending completion of correlated tasks.

3) NDSSS Legislative Committee

a. A Legislative Committee will be convened for the 2013 Legislative Session. This committee will meet every other week during the Legislative session via conference call. Schools should submit the name of their representative to Emma Tufte by Friday, December 21.

New Business:

1) Discussion on Governor's Budget

- a. The Governor's Budget recommends a 4% increase for employee salaries in higher education with continuation of the employer funded health insurance and retirement. A recommendation was made to increase retirement contributions by 1% by employer, 1% by employee each year for the next two years.
- b. Discussion occurred regarding staff concerns about the governor's recommendations. Concerns emerged about salary distribution on campuses; staff advancement with advanced degrees; a higher education employee could theoretically receive a smaller increase than a state employee (3% minimum, 5% maximum).
- c. SSS will consider making a proposal to SBHE that employees be ensured the greater amount of the percentage or a fixed amount as an increase. This issue should be brought back to campus level for input and discussion prior to January meeting.
- d. SSS will consider making a proposal to SBHE regarding employee's ability to receive additional compensation or move in the broadband system upon completion of an advanced degree. This issue should be brought back to campus level for input and discussion prior to January meeting.
- e. A report on salary distributions for the university system will be sent by Laura Glatt for review.

2) Pathways to Success

- a. Janice Hoffarth (SSS SBHE Representative) stated that concerns had not been brought forward by staff regarding this plan. If there are any concerns, please share with Janice.
- b. Concern was brought forth regarding the ability to use tuition waivers for online classes and dependent tuition waivers at other institutions. Janice indicated that the initial phase of the Pathways to Success will not address online tuition and waivers so this issue is not currently being explored.
- c. Dr. Chrivani will meet face to face with UND Staff Senate on January 7. State Staff Senate is invited to join the discussion. As details are finalized, information will be sent out about this meeting.

3) SBHE Staff Advisor Nominations

The floor was open for nominations for a one year term beginning July 1, 2013.

Vicki Troftgruben (Minot) nominated Janice Hoffarth. Janice accepted. Kelly Bisek (NDSU) nominated Laura Dallmann. Laura accepted.

Anthony Willer (DSU) moved that nominations cease. Vicki Troftgruben (Minot) seconded. Motion carried. Elections will occur at the January 2013 SSS meeting.

4) Next Meeting

a. The next meeting will be held in January 2013. Emma Tufte will send a Doodle to determine best meeting date and time during the week of December 31 – January 4.

Diana Hillebrand (UND) moved to adjourn. Carla Sivesind (BSC) seconded. Motion carried.

IVN session ended.