North Dakota University System Staff Senate Meeting January 11, 2013 Meeting Minutes

The North Dakota University System Staff Senate met on January 11, 2013 via Blackboard Collaborate.

Schools present:

Bismarck State College (BSC): Carla Sivesind and Scott Hulphrey; Dakota College Bottineau (DCB): Tracy Chisholm Dickinson State University (DSU): Anthony Willer, and Krissy Sparks; Lake Region State College (LRSC): Andy Wakeford; Mayville State University (MaSU): Susan Cordahl, Heather Hoyt, and Sheena Moe; Minot State University (MiSU): Linda Benson, and Darla Weigel; North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS): Melissa Meyer North Dakota State University (NDSU): Laura Dallmann, LaDonna DeGeldere, and Wendy Gibson; University of North Dakota (UND): Kristi Swartz, Diana Hillebrand, Patricia Young and Janice Hoffarth; Valley City State University (VCSU): Rick Clark, Jan Drake and Emma Tufte; Williston State College (WSC): None.

SBHE Board Member: Janice Hoffarth NDUS Representative: Laura Glatt HRC Representative: Pat Hansen

NDUS Staff Senate Vice President Kristi Swartz called the meeting to order at 1:15 pm.

Campus Updates: The campuses provided updates.

NDSU moved to approve the December 2012 minutes. BSC seconded. Motion carried.

SBHE Staff Advisor Report: Janice Hoffarth provided an updated. On Monday, the Chancellor will present to the Legislature with the SBHE in attendance. Institutions will make presentations on their budget requests, Monday, January 14 – Wednesday, January 16. The next SBHE meeting is Thursday, January 17. If anyone has any comments on the SBHE agenda, please send these to Janice.

Anthony Willer thanked UND for hosting the Chancellor's visit with State Staff Senate on Tuesday, January 8.

Old Business:

- 1) Chancellor's Visit @ UND/State Staff Senate: The chancellor addressed each of the questions that were sent in during the presentation. Consensus agreed that this should be an annual event; in addition, the group agreed that State Staff Senate should invite the Chancellor to the face to face meeting in June. The event was well attended.
- 2) NDSSS Logo: Logos were distributed via email for review. Comments should be submitted to Carla as the graphic designer refines the logo options. Final copies will be available at the February meeting and voting will occur to select the logo.
- **3)** NDSSS Legislative Committee: This committee held an organizational meeting on January 2, 2013.

4) Salary Administration from Governor's Budget: Concern was brought forward regarding merit based pay from Mayville. Laura Glatt addressed the concern stating that SBHE establishes guidelines for campuses to follow as they prepare their annual budgets. SBHE has stated that raises should be based on performance instead of previous across the board raises.

New Business:

- 1) SBHE Staff Advisor Election: Laura Dallmann (NDSU) and Janice Hoffarth (UND) were nominated at the December 2012 meeting. Candidates shared a brief speech. Janice Hoffarth (UND) was elected as SBHE Staff Advisor.
- 2) Future meetings:
 - a. Monthly meeting schedule for spring 2013 was discussed. SSS will meet Monday, February 11; Monday, March 4; Monday, April 1; Monday, May 6 at 3 pm (Central).
 - b. June meeting location was discussed. Minot State University will provide an update at the February meeting.

UND moved to adjourn the meeting. NDSU seconded. Motion carried.

Blackboard Collaborative session ended at 2:22 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Emma Tufte