North Dakota University System Staff Senate Meeting March 6 & 9, 2012 Meeting Minutes

The North Dakota University System Staff Senate met on March 6, 2012 via IVN.

Schools present:

Bismarck State College (BSC): Scott Helphrey, Rita Nodland, Carla Sivesind, and Sara Vollmer; Dakota College Bottineau (DCB): Tracy Chisholm and Eric Kester-Mabon; Dickinson State University (DSU): Scott Staudinger, Heidi Larson, and Anthony Willer; Lake Region State College (LRSC): Katie Nettell and Cindy Rerick; Mayville State University (MaSU): Jay Hendrickson; Minot State University (MiSU): Linda Benson, Vicki Troftgruben, and Anton Huether; North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS): Melissa Meyer and Jill Jerdee; North Dakota State University (NDSU): Collette Erickson, Kelly Bisek, and LaDonna DeGeldere; University of North Dakota (UND): Kristi Swartz, Loren Liepold, and Patricia Young; Valley City State University (VCSU): Rick Clark and Emma Tufte; Williston State College (WSC): James Foertsch.

SBHE Board Member: Janice Hoffarth NDUS representative: Laura Glatt Human Resource Council representative: None

NDUS Staff Senate President Anthony Willer called the meeting to order at 9:00 am MT (10:00 am CT).

Welcome to new NDUS liaison Laura Glatt. She said she is glad to be a part of the meetings to provide help and assistance where needed.

Approval of minutes: Anthony will email the December minutes and we will approve via email vote.

Presentation by ALT regarding Lecture Capture – Jerry Rostad & Patti Heisler

Overview: Presently the university system is paying approximately \$18.81/hr for Tegrity and Panapto licenses. Local hosted costs are estimated at \$6.50/hr for Panapto and \$7.64/hour for Tegrity. Cloud hosted costs are estimated at \$5.70/hour for Panapto and \$5.36/hr for Tegrity. By end of March NDUS/ALT will be presenting a solution to the SBHE.

Campus Updates: The campuses provided updates. See attached. (ND SSS Campus Updates.doc)

SBHE: Staff Senate Board Member Report

Janice Hoffarth, UND, informed us that the SBHE has been working with NDUS office to assist Dickinson State University. They continue to work in committees with the Technology Efficiencies. Janice recognized the proficient leadership in Anthony Willer and Scott Staudinger during this transitional time in Dickinson. The UND nickname was discussed and continues to be an ongoing issue.

Old Business:

1) Tuition Waiver Task Force: See Attached. (Tuition Waiver Task Force.doc)

Anthony Willer reported on the progress of the task force. All senates are asked to look over and review the attached document and please give any feedback to Anthony by the next SBHE board meeting on April 12, 2012. Four options were presented for the respective staff senators to present to their campus senates for consideration. Anthony Willer requested feedback as soon as meetings are held. The next Tuition Waiver Task Force meeting is scheduled for Thursday, March 8.

2) Chancellor Search Committee:

Anthony Willer will be sending out the updated information on the chancellor finalist for all senates to give their feedback to Janice Hoffarth before the board votes at the March 13th, 2012 SBHE meeting.

3) Compensation Report Committee: No report.

4) Maximizing Results through Efficiencies

- a. Lecture Capture ALT demonstration
- b. Learning Management Systems (no report) Anthony Willer said that he is on the committee representing DSU and that there has been no meeting as of yet. Scott Helphrey (BSC) requested that we be kept in the loop as to what is happening with this committee.

5) Date of Campus Senate Meetings

Anthony Willer said that he was unable to get away to the various campus senate meetings around the state but he would be more than willing to attend the meeting via phone or video. Janice Hoffarth also volunteered to attend any meetings or also visit with campuses as she attends the SBHE meetings around the state.

6) NDSSS Logo

Anthony requested that we table this discussion until later.

New Business:

1) Performance Funding Task Force: see attached (Performance Funding Task Force.doc) Anthony Willer informed us that Vice Chancellor Krotseng is the chair of this committee and although Anthony was not an official part of this committee his ideas and input was greatly appreciated. Concern was brought up that the graduates were only counted if they were employed within a year of graduation in their chosen field whereas some graduates don't get into their field for a while after graduation. There were many issues with the performance based funding and also issues with the tracking of the students within the state system as to who would count certain students.

2) HR/Payroll Task Force

Kelly Bisek, NDSU and Katie Douthit, UND have both volunteered to serve on the task force. Anthony Willer will be submitting their names to Teri Thorsen (Director of Financial and HRM Systems for the North Dakota University System). A thank you to Carla Sivesind (BSC) and Melissa Meyer (NDSCS) who had originally volunteered for this committee.

Meeting was called due to IVN time expiring. We will reconvene as soon as possible.

Meeting was called to order by Anthony Willer on March 9 @ 9:00 MT (10:00 CT) via Wimba Collaborate.

Schools present:

Bismarck State College (BSC): Scott Helphrey and Sara Vollmer; Dakota College Bottineau (DCB): Tracy Chisholm; Dickinson State University (DSU): Anthony Willer and Scott Staudinger; Lake Region State College (LRSC): Annette Schmid; Mayville State University (MaSU): Jay Hendrickson and Cindy Ingebretson; Minot State University (MiSU): Vicki Troftgruben and Anton Huether; North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS): Jill Jerdee; North Dakota State University (NDSU): Kelly Bisek; University of North Dakota (UND): Kristi Swartz; Valley City State University (VCSU): Emma Tufte; Williston State College (WSC): James Foertsch.

3) NDSSS Meeting day/times:

Anthony brought up the idea that SSS should meet monthly. With all of the current issues that need our attention he believes that it would benefit us to keep on top of them with regularly scheduled meetings.

Vicki Troftgruben (MiSU) made a motion to hold the ND SSS meeting monthly at 2:00 CST on Monday prior to SBHE. Scott Staudinger (BSC) seconded motion. Motion passed.

4) Election of Officers:

Discussion was held on the advantages of having the ND SSS SBHE representative hold a two year term. The CCF and Student representatives on the SBHE have two year terms and at this point the ND SSS bylaws committee will make the provisions and look at the election process and try to make it more in line with the SBHE. Linda Benson (MiSU) on the bylaws committee said that they will look into the issue and make the needed recommendations.

5) Sick Leave Policy: Tabled until next meeting.

Please send Anthony Willer feedback on the Blackboard Collaborate verse IVN meeting venue.

Adjournment: Kelly Bisek (NDSU) made a motion to adjourn. Scott Staudinger seconded. Motion carried.