

# **Meeting Minutes**

March 12, 2018

The North Dakota State Staff Senate met on March 12, 2018 via ND IVN.

### I. Call to order

a. The meeting was called to order at 2:30 pm CST on March 12, 2018 by ND State Staff Senate President Retha Mattern (BSC).

## II. Roll call

- a. Bismarck State College (BSC): Retha Mattern
- b. Core Technology Services Office (CTSO): (Absent)
- c. Dakota College Bottineau (DCB): Mike O'Toole
- d. **Dickinson State University (DSU):** Johnna Douthit, Laura Fetting
- e. Lake Region State College (LRSC): Andy Wakeford, Cathleen Ruch
- f. Mayville State University (MaSU): Misti Wuori and Rick Karboviak
- g. Minot State University (MiSU): Mindy Rudnick, Michael Linnell
- h. **North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS):** Lisa Braun, Bruce Woytassek, Alissa Shervan, Alissa Herbranson, Jenn Schlepp
- i. North Dakota State University (NDSU): Elizabeth Cronin, Diane Axness, Jered Pigeon
- j. University of North Dakota (UND): Tyler Clauson, Lisa Earls, Pam Shea
- k. Valley City State University (VCSU): Sarah Larsen and Joey Nix
- l. Williston State College (WSC): Amy Armstrong
- m. NDUS Representative: Billie Jo Lorius
- n. HRC Representative (NDSCS): Lisa Braun
- o. **HRC Liaison:** (Absent)
- p. SBHE Representative (LRSC): Andy Wakeford

## III. Approval of Agenda

a. A motion to approve the agenda was made by Lisa Braun (NDSCS) and seconded by Amy Armstrong (WSC). Following a vote, motion carried.

### IV. Approval of Minutes

a. A motion to approve the February 2018 minutes was made by Bruce Woytassek (NDSCS) and seconded by Diane Axness (NDSU). Following a vote, motion carried, minutes approved as is.

#### V. Reports

- a. Campus Updates –Please get campus updates to Misti Wuori (MaSU) by March 16, and she will share a final draft emailed after the meeting. Be sure to send Misti a note that says "no update" if applicable. Andy Wakeford shares the Campus Updates with the State Board.
- b. SBHE Staff Advisor Report Andy Wakeford (LRSC) reported that the State Board of Higher Education (SBHE) met February 22, 2018, in Bismarck. The Commerce Department presented a report about faculty research and research from higher education. The VCSU

Presidential search is underway. An update on the Mayville State Presidential Search was given. The Faculty Leave policy was discussed, as well as a staggered approach to campus presidential evaluations. Updates on Envision 2030 and S.B. 2003 were given, and a lot of other content was covered at this meeting from Student and Academic Affairs. UND Distance Education presented, and Andy Wakeford was announced as continuing in his role for a second term.

c. HRC – Lisa Braun (NDSCS) reported that they were to meet in March, but had weather and technology issues. She will share an update at the next meeting. The face-to-face meeting is June 5-6, 2018.

## VI. Business Agenda

- a. Cathleen Ruch (LRSC) summarized the suggestions for changes to the by-laws as reviewed by the by-laws committee formed at the last NDSSS meeting. These changes were shared via the listserv with members by Katie Peterson (WSC) prior to the meeting. A lot of the changes had to do with clarifying the language (see attached). Amy Armstrong (WSC) motioned to approve, and Lisa Braun (NDSCS) seconded to approve the by-laws as presented with the changes suggested and the amendment to section 7.3 on the need for two readings. Motion carried.
- b. Policy Subcommittee: Retha Mattern (BSC) shared the revised Letter of Concern to the SBHE prior to the meeting. Discussion followed on the next steps with the revised Letter of Concern. Retha explained the process and timeline to the letter's creation. The Council of College Faculties regularly sends letters to the SBHE on issues, so this letter serves as model for that as a tool to improve communication with the SBHE. Retha gives updates as the NDSSS President at the SBHE meetings, and these letters can serve as another tool. Discussion followed on approaches to be working on good relationships between the NDSSS and SBHE, as well as work individual campus senates do to build good relationships with local administrations. The NDSSS needs to represent all staff as a whole. Concerns and discussion followed. Representatives from UND, NDSU, and NDSCS voiced concerns based on the tone and content of the letter and asked that it not be sent but that each campus work through their own campus governance on the issues addressed. Shervan (NDSCS) asked if individual campuses could opt to sign the Letter of Concern or not. Mattern (BSC) clarified that the revised letter would not list individual campuses, but rather come from the NDSSS as a body, with Mattern signing as the NDSSS President. Discussion followed. It was determined a vote will be needed from NDSSS members to support Mattern sending the letter before the March SBHE meeting. Discussion followed about the letter's tone. A motion to conduct a roll call vote to send the revised Letter of Concern to the SBHE was made by Braun (NDSCS), and seconded by Fetting (DSU). Motion carried.

BSC—absent

CTS—absent

DCB—Abstain

DSU—Yes

LRSC—Yes

MaSU—Yes

MiSU—absent

NDSCS—No

UND—No

NDSU—No

VCSU—Yes

WSC—absent

With 4 "Yes" votes, 3 "No" votes, and 1 "Abstain" vote, there was a tie in the voting. NDSSS President Mattern (BSC) cast a vote to break the tie with a "Yes" vote. The Letter of Concern will be sent for the March 28 SBHE Meeting in Mayville.

- c. There is a Joint Summit with faculty and staff planned for April 13, 2018, in Bismarck at the State Capitol. Mileage reimbursement and lunch will be provided, but not hotel. Retha shared information via the listserv. Please email Retha the names of who will be attending from each campus.
- VII. Open Discussion The dates of June 19 and 20 were decided for the NDSSS Summer Meeting 2018. The meeting would begin in the afternoon of June 19 and wrap around noon on June 20. Wuori (MaSU) has reserved a block of hotel rooms at the Mayville Hometown Inn and will share information with members.
- VIII. Future Meetings
  - a. Next meeting –The next meeting will be held April 9, 2018, from 2:30-4:00 CST.
  - IX. Adjournment
    - a. The meeting adjourned at 3:45 pm CST, following a motion to adjourn from Laura Fetting (DSU) and seconded by Tyler Clauson (UND).

Respectfully submitted,

Misti Wuori ND SSS Secretary 2017-18