North Dakota State Staff Senate Special Meeting November 9, 2011 Meeting Minutes

The North Dakota University System Staff Senate met on November 9, 2011 on IVN and Phone Bridge.

Schools present:

Bismarck State College (BSC): Scott Helphrey (via phone) and Sara Vollmer; **Dakota College Bottineau (DCB):** Tracy Chisholm and Loretta Forsberg; **Dickinson State University (DSU):** Anthony Willer and Christie Chernich;

Lake Region State College (LRSC): Joycelyn Hagen;

Mayville State University (MaSU): Cindy Ingebretson and Susan Cordahl;

Minot State University (MiSU): Nathan Anderson, Linda Benson, Anton Huether, and Vicki Troftgruben;

North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS): Aimee DeVries and Carin Kassa;

North Dakota State University (NDSU): La Donna De Geldere;

University of North Dakota (UND): Janice Hoffarth, Kristi Swartz, and Patricia Young;

Valley City State University (VCSU): Rick Clark, Jan Drake, and Emma Tufte (all via phone);

Williston State College (WSC): James Foertsch.

Schools Absent: None

Human Resource Council representative: Diane Nelson, UND

Special meeting was requested by Janice Hoffarth who called for an email vote to approve the meeting. Motion Passed. See Attached.

ND State Staff Senate Vice President James Foertsch called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

Motion by Janice Hoffarth, UND to add three agenda items.

- 1) Removal of President
- 2) Resolution on Tuition Waiver
- 3) Chancellors Search Committee

Second by Anthony Willer, DSU. Motion carried.

1) Removal and election of the Office of President

NDSCS verified that Aaron Berg no longer represented NDSCS Staff Senate.

Vice President James Foertsch declined the Presidency.

Nominations Opened.

La Donna De Geldere, NDSU nominated Janice Hoffarth, UND. She accepted.

Jan Drake, VCSU nominated Emma Tufte, VCSU. She accepted.

Kristi Swartz, UND nominated Anthony Willer, DSU. He accepted.

Janice Hoffarth withdrew her acceptance.

Vote 8 -1 with 2 abstained in favor of Anthony Willer, DSU.

Meeting was turned over to President Anthony Willer, DSU.

- 2) Tuition Waiver Resolution was reworked and will be sent out to all colleges for individual senate approvals. Plan is to present to SBHE at the face to face meeting on February 23, 2012 in Wahpeton, ND.
- 3) Chancellor Search Committee

Aaron Berg was removed from the committee and has not been replaced with a Staff representative. Anthony Willer will be contacting the Board President, Grand Shaft to voice our concern. Please talk to any representatives that you might know from your individual areas to make sure that we have a voice on the committee.

Open Floor:

Linda Benson, MSU offered a thank you to NDSU and UND for helping with the flood recovery.

Janice Hoffarth, UND voiced a thank you to Anthony Willer, DSU and Emma Tufte, VCSU for running for the office.

La Donna De Geldere, NDSU requested a press release be made to introduce Anthony Willer, DSU as our new President. Janice Hoffarth, UND will send one out to all colleges.

Next meeting will be at the beginning of December, 2011. Kristi Swartz, UND will be sending out a Doodle.

Adjourned.